Here at Bluebridge, we continuously release updates to make the Mobile App Studio and your app experience better. Our newest update changes how your app receives new data from the Mobile App Studio.
What you should know:
Previously as users navigated the app, there were multiple triggers that would cause content to sync. With the newest change, after you make a content update in the Mobile App Studio and press “Make it Live”, users will receive a silent push notification – one that doesn’t have a visible pop-up message – and new content updates will come through at this time. This content will update as the user navigates around the app.
It is important to note that a popup will appear only upon downloading or a new session. This popup will say "New Improvements are Available," and will ask the user to "Allow" or "Ignore." This is only when our Development Team produces a new bundle to the product and is not actually linked to the content in your app.
Types of Users:
App users who have opted in to receive push notifications:
These users will receive new content regularly via the “silent” push method. This method does not depend on them having opened the app recently.
App users who have opted out of receiving push notifications:
These users will not receive content updates using the “silent” push method. However, the app will check-in for content updates the next time they launch their app.
Mobile App Studio Users:
If your app is running and you are not opted in to receive push notifications, you will need to hard close your app in order for your changes to be visible within the app -- as the only app-side content check takes place at the time of app launch.
If you app has gone into a “background” state, this counts as closing your app, and new content will sync the next time you open your app. Your app is placed into a “background” state during regular device usage. Once you have opened a few other apps (i.e. Facebook, Gmail, Chrome or Safari, etc.) your device will place your app into a “background” state to reserve memory.
If you would like to see your changes after recently editing content in the Mobile App Studio, sync your changes in the MAS by clicking “Make it Live”, then hard close and reopen your app. Your app will now sync to your newest changes, and they should be visible.